Hubby-made: Kitchen Table!

I have one talented hubby. I’m so lucky that he’s found a hobby of building things, and even more so, because he’s pretty dang good at it!

We have this awkward space in front of the doors to our beloved screened in porch. It is obviously supposed to be for the kitchen table, but the previous owners actually added the porch on, so the doors leading to it weren’t actually put in to meet the design of having a kitchen table fit. That being said, I still wanted a kitchen table.

I grew up eating only at the kitchen table, so I knew that as our family grows (not saying that will be any time soon), eating on the coffee table just won’t feel the same. So, I’ve been on the hunt for a small kitchen table to add to the space.

There is a Ballard Design Outlet not far from my work, so on lunch one day I saw that they had round tabletops for $25.00. I came back with Joe that weekend so he could see. They were small, didn’t match any of the stands and had no matching leafs, but they were well built and cheap… so we bought one.

Joe then went to work in his shed on building us a stand. And such a pretty stand and table he made! See below to see the process of our table coming together 🙂

Image

Image

isn’t he handsome and manly 🙂

Image

Image

Image

And then the painting, (green, my favorite) and TA DAH!

Image

Next was to find chairs…and get rid of that rug, which was actually my reason for going to ballard in the first place, and now the table makes the rug look bad, not complaining, just needed to move it.

Here are a couple pictures without the rug…which has been relocated to the dining room…for now.

photo 3 photo-1

A couple weeks into his project, I found these chairs at an antique store near work. All 4, with cushions for $100. Not a bad deal!

Image

yes, I tend to go furniture shopping at lunch. It starts out as an entertaining way to get out of the office for a bit without ending up at Target and spending more money than needed. It usually ends up with me finding something even more expensive that I want, and shouldn’t spend the money on… guess I need to start bringing a book or something instead of going shopping at lunch 🙂

In this case, it was a good find. Especially when they were still there this week when Joe met me at the antique store to look for chairs. We got them!

I went back to work, and Joe went to work on painting the chairs!

Image

And finished product!

Image

We ate our first dinner, in our first house, at our new, Hubby-made kitchen table. I just love it!

One thought on “Hubby-made: Kitchen Table!

Leave a Reply

