Wedding Card Memories

In the middle of the wedding planning process I came across a pin on pinterest on how how to save all your special cards from weddings, baby showers, etc.. and make a cute little book so you can go back and look at your cards anytime without having the clutter or cards thrown all about.

Last weekend was one of the many weekends where Joe worked during the day so I had several projects I wanted to tackle. One of them being, doing something about the large stack of wedding cards I had stuck in a drawer in an upstairs bedroom. I’ve always been a bit of a hoarder and I mean there are so many sweet notes and encouragement written on the cards for the wonderful gifts we received during wedding showers and at the wedding, how could I throw those away.

It was time to start a pinterest project and create my wedding card memory books.

What you need:

special cards you want to use
hole puncher
loose leaf binder rings, or some sort of ribbon ( I bought a variety pack of different size binder rings )
Paper or fabric if you want to make a cover
Optional: box of tissues, in case you tear up while re-reading all your cards

Almost self explanatory after reading items needed. But, I had a lot of cards I wanted to save and decided I’d probably be making more than one book, so I separated my cards into 2 sets of sizes. Large cards and tiny cards. Also note, I did have to cut down on the amount of cards, I’m really working on this hoarder thing. It was tough, but the cards with just a name, didn’t make the cut, when I go back through these I wanted to read the sweet, funny and caring notes.

photo-5

photo-3

Then I simply hole punched 1-2 (depending on size of card) holes in each card, put the binder ring on each. Then I created  a basic cover with a colored piece of paper and used a “Mr & Mrs” stamp I already had for a little decoration.

See finished product below:

photo

It really was fun going through all the cards again, I mean how fun will it be to look back and see the card I got from Mickey and Minnie saying congratulations or the funny and sweet cards from my family and friends with wedding advice, the heart-felt notes from a family friend and an Uncle who were unable to attend the wedding and the hand-written note that I will forever cherish from my Aunt Nana (my Great Aunt).

Fun, easy, project that will help save memories, my favorite. Also think this would be a great idea for cards you get when you bring a baby home, and then when the child is older, you can read them all the cards they got, would be neat for them to see how excited everyone was to meet them!

Leave a Reply

